2010 CanAm Championships

June 5, 2010

On Saturday June 5th, 2005 the Can-Am Championships were held in Oakville hosted by Morningstar Taekwon-Do. The tournament featured competitors from 7 Provinces and 5 States and boasted a head table of 4 Masters, including the President of the Canadian Taekwon-Do Federation (CTFI), Master Clint Norman and the Vice-President of the USITF, Master Ruben Suarez.  The tournament brought over 300 competitors and 400 spectators to the beautiful town of Oakville, nearly filling the 1,000-seat venue. The cheers from the crowd were most notable whenever there was a final match between the USA and Canada, each country encouraging their country’s competitor.

The tournament started with an opening ceremony that was culminated with some inspirational words from CTFI President, Master Norman, who emphasized the importance of competing in the spirit of the tenets of Taekwon-Do.  The tournament was highlighted by a fiercely competitive Black Belt division consisting of over 130 participants, many of whom had international experience competing in the previous year’s ITF World Championships and looking for a spot on Canada’s National Team.

Comments are closed.